YOU ARE HERE Home Uttar Pradesh Languages of Uttar Pradesh

Languages of Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh is the fifth largest state of the country, located in northern India. It is the most populous state in the country, and the major and the official language of Uttar Pradesh is the standard or khari boli of Hindi. However, several regional dialects of Hindi are also spoken in different places of the state, among which Bhojpuri, Braj, Awadhi, Bahgeli and Bundeli are fairly common. In fact, Bhojpuri is the second most popular language of the state after standard Hindi. Hindi and its various dialects are spoken by approximately 90 percent of the population of the state.

These dialects of Hindi are specific to various regions of Uttar Pradesh. Awadhi, which is a mix of Urdu and Hindi khari boli, was propagated by popular Sufi poets like Amir Khusru. Braj Bhasha, the sweet and lyrical language of Lord Krishna, is spoken in the regions of Mathura and Vrindavan.

Urdu is also spoken by a large population in the state, notably in Lucknow. The Lakhnavi Urdu is a form of high literary Urdu. Urdu speaking percentage in the state is a little less than ten percent. Bengali is also spoken by approximately 0.14 percentage of the people of the state. Sindhi, Gujrathi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Tamil, Telegu, and Nepali are also spoken by minority percentages of the population of Uttar Pradesh.

While Hindi remains the official language of Uttar Pradesh, Urdu has been declared as an additional official language of the state. By statistical observation, fifty one percent of the Urdu speaking population of the state lives in the urban areas while the remaining forty nine are from rural areas. Although Urdu is a Muslim language, a large population of non-Muslims speak Urdu in Uttar Pradesh, using it as a medium of communication among the common people.

Last Updated On: 2011/07/16